It isn’t ‘Live’ as I understand it, just the video shoot for the song, from a band and record company that probably didn’t have the $$$ for a fancy ‘mid-80’s Video. But I love this song, and yes, Mike Scott does have a way with words. It’s called Poetry

merlin:

Waterboys – “The Whole of the Moon” [Live, 1985]

Inspired by Gord. Used to love this record. Mike Scott is a man who loves words.

I spoke about wings
You just flew
I wondered, I guessed, and I tried
You just knew
I sighed
But you swooned
I saw the crescent
You saw the whole of the moon!
The whole of the moon!

[…]

Unicorns and cannonballs,
Palaces and piers,
Trumpets, towers, and tenemets,
Wide oceans full of tears,
Flag, rags, ferry boats,
Scimitars and scarves,
Every precious dream and vision
Underneath the stars

What do you think about what I wrote?

