Readability and an argument for long form – Meanland.


Long form, suggests the New Yorker, ‘is something you want to sit with and not be distracted by. I don’t mean this in a spiritual way, but it’s a meditative experience. The Web is fundamentally a distracted experience’

I agreed with most of this article, except to express surprise that it has no reference to the EXCELLENT arcLabs Readability service.

I read quite a bit on my iPhone, and pretty much found it impossible on my laptop due to designs which were more focused on promoting other content and advertising rather then ensuring the content was easy to use.

Then I discovered Readability. Anything longer than a few paragraphs is now read exclusively using this service.

Not only does it give you the opportunity to design how you want to read the piece, it removes the distractions you refer to.

I’m sure websites hate it, but for me, it’s a godsend.

What do you think about what I wrote?

