Don’t bother marketing ‘Smartphones’ to real people


Following the announcement of the iPad back in January,  I wrote an article on change and how I was flabbergasted by the ongoing resistance to it. In this extract from it I touched on my curiousness about the use of the term ‘Smartphone”;

Supposedly now, phones which do more than the standard feature set (i.e. make phone calls and send text messages) are given the glorious term “smartphone”. I don’t know about you, but that term implies dumb phones being improved rather than describing a multifacted, multi-functional device which just happens to do voice calls.

The idea that Mobile Devices, as they are becoming, must behave in a certain way is a tedious example of how tunnel visioned some of those who hold opinions on technology and idea-centric subjects have become. The World sometimes tells us many things must look and behave a certain way. Interesting recent technological examples include personal computers, ebook readers and hand dryers. I for one disagree. I’m after the scientist, engineer or designer to design and improve forms which fit much better with the world we live in.

Focused on our needs, not on that of the resistance.

It was interesting then to read an article on a response by school children to the term ‘Smartphone” by Kevin C. Tofel. Kevin is the Managing Editor at jkOnTheRun, a GigaOM network site covering mobile technology. He wrote;

To keep things simple, I started the conversation by asking: “How many of your parents use a smartphone?” Not a single student raised their hand, which caused me to break out into a sweat as I envisioned my entire presentation going down the tubes faster than you can say, “Wimbledon needs a tie-breaker process.” But then the light bulb went on and I asked: “How many of your parents have an iPhone?” Nearly two-thirds of the hands went up.

I should beat my own drum more often.

2 thoughts on “Don’t bother marketing ‘Smartphones’ to real people

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Don’t bother marketing ‘Smartphones’ to real people « Making Hay -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Twitter and your smartphone, bringing the cloud to the people « Making Hay

What do you think about what I wrote?

