Entitlement in App Store Reviews


Many of you will remember I often write about people’s “sense of entitlement”

I came across this interesting article from Marco Arment (developer of Tumblr and Instapaper).

The last paragraph seems to nail a sense of entitlement is a key reason why people leave 1 star comments on Application in the Apple AppStore

one word is especially telling of a prevalent attitude I’ve seen for a while: useless. More than any other adjective, reviewers condemn appsthey don’t like as “useless”. Subjectively, I usually see this in contexts in which the app doesn’t have a minor feature that the reviewer wants, or where it doesn’t perform well in a rare use-case, so the reviewer unfairly declares the app “useless”.

Or “I want your app to work my way”

What do you think about what I wrote?

