Creating Intangible Value in the Climate Change Debate


In light of upcoming TEDx in Canberra and the posts on its blog where volunteers share their 3 Favourite TED Talks,  I’m republishing a post I wrote last year about one of my favourite TED Talks.

I wrote a rather lengthy blog for blog action day in 2009. The post had as its basic principle that the conversation around Climate Change had to change to be positive.

I then immediately discovered this TED Video of Rory Sutherland discussing the exact problem I identified in wonderful terms. He called it “how to create intangible added value to replace actual material value’.

At about 6’45” in he touches briefly on the Climate Change Debate in which he nails my argument exactly. He puts forward that this is what Climate Change Campaigners should be doing and then moves on to the rest of his presentation. No more needs to be said.

I heartily recommend this 16 minutes to all. Best Ted video I’ve seen since Ken Robinsons on Education

As an addendum, I attended Social Media Club Sydney last night. John Johnston who helped set up Earth Hour’s Social Media Campaigns made a number of interesting points in his presentation. But none were so apt in light of Rory Sutherland’s TED talk as Earth Hour: “party not protest”.

While I may differ with the WWF and Earth Hour on what should be the outcome of Earth Hour over time, I certainly agree they have helped make the conversation on the topic positive.

One thought on “Creating Intangible Value in the Climate Change Debate

  1. Thanks, yes, I think for getting people involved, and perhaps even moving people to action, positivity, hope and fun is a good way to go. Fear can only get us so far, and often seems to paralyses people, or produce inaction.

What do you think about what I wrote?

