The Journal – online news or talk radio?


While on the one hand, it’s nice to get an eclectic view of the news and other information, on the other I’m wary of the Irish website  TheJournal.ie taking this to a whole new level.

Just as I am now I often use the PressThis Bookmarklet to often extract stories from other sites, quote some content and write a wrapper or some commentary. But this entire website seems to take my content sharing and aggregation from my micro level to the macro.

I’m thinking Crikey.com.au with even less home grown articles. And rather than sharing articles from other sites and linking directly to them, many of the stories here have been dressed up as their own journalism.

This kind of “news” sites remind me of talk (and talkback) radio  in how the story has indeed become how you and your listener (caller) talks about the story.

I don’t dislike it, but I’m not sure I like it either.

What do you think about what I wrote?

