Decide Fast and understand sooner


A little over a week ago I decided to give up twitter for a while in order to see if I could reduce my addiction. Perhaps I was being overly optimistic about attempting to stay away for a month. But because I felt I had an addiction which was in some ways getting out of hand to the detriment of other parts of my life, I thought it worthy of some effort.

By the weekend (so about 5 days later) I had figured one or two things out about my use

  • it isn’t actually that hard to stay away for periods of time
  • I was reminded that you can’t keep tabs on everything which is going on in twitter so don’t try
  • if some people get confused by the random nature of my tweets, well that’s the way it is – you are welcome to unfollow
  • attempting to corral certain types of topics into one account over another mostly becomes like separating the yolk from the egg white and is then painful to do constantly

When today I was asked in a meeting to think about things we weren’t doing that we should be doing, I immediately thought of my recent post on dropping requirements and answered “Can we also think of the things we are doing that we shouldn’t be doing?” But my mind also turned to my hiatus from regular service on twitter. It was at that point I finally figured out I had learned enough in the past week and Twitter didn’t belong in the list of things I was doing which I needed to excise.

My snap decision last week to take a break from twitter has reminded me that even those decisions which don’t immediately appear to be successful, can deliver some positive outcomes, some of which lead you down a better path. In other words we will always make mistakes, If we are afraid to make decisions because we might make a mistake, we’d never make decisions.

Rather than saying I failed in my ambition – although I was never good at staying too long at anything, ask my football and rugby coaches if they are still around – I’d rather just say I came to some agreement with myself sooner than I expected. The positive outcomes which came out of this for me were:

  • To be more rather than less snarky about random stuff which crosses me in life. Criticism deserved needs expression.
  • Deal with anything more deserving of some explanation of my criticism in a blogpost rather than a tweet. This allows me to not just better explain the reasons for my snark, but also allows me to tease out possible solution.
  • Having the time to get a whole load of blogposts written what with the reduction in the number of distractions
  • Fall in love with Instapaper all over again
  • Actually read books
  • Get some work done with less distractions during the day
  • Tweet less by being more selective of what actually deserves sharing. In other words apply to twitter my oft-stated belief in moderation of all things enjoyable
  • I figured out there are some great people I chat with a lot on Twitter and I missed them

But most importantly I decided the iPhone NEVER attends family time. Everything can wait until the right time after all.

Oh and yeah, soon I’ll be under the yoke of the Southern Cross. Wish me luck on Monday.

4 thoughts on “Decide Fast and understand sooner

  1. Here I think is a key takeaway:

    “I was reminded that you can’t keep tabs on everything which is going on in twitter so don’t try”

    I see too many people try and keep track of everything tweet of every person they follow. Once you follow more than 100 people this is nigh on impossible.

    I learnt many years ago (back when I was an online forum addict) after going on holidays fearing that I would miss out on so much conversation/activity I would be lost when I came back, that it was far from the case. The community is still there when you come back, most people don’t even notice that you were gone, then you just pick up where you left off.

    If it’s important, someone will @reply you in a message, that is far easier to manage than keeping tabs on every tweet.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Decide Fast and understand sooner « Making Hay -- Topsy.com

  3. Pingback: Well it’s no wonder the HP killed their Touchpad business | Making Hay

What do you think about what I wrote?

