All your Facebook’s belong to us


The whole world wants to tell us on Twitter and even on Facebook itself why they are leaving facebook and why the changes they made this week suck even worse than the last changes. But there are better reasons for leaving any service than that surely?

When I first used facebook, I kinda liked it. It was a handy way to keep in touch with people I knew back ‘home’ in Ireland or people I used to work with but didn’t see too often anymore. But when I discovered Twitter came along and the Zuck and his minions started to turn Facebook into a Westfield for “Social”.

I’ve previously written about Facebook’s Customer Experience failures  and the sentiments people express in criticisms of Facebook’s changes to its site or its permissions. I suppose by now I shouldn’t be surprised that every time they make changes, that there’ll be impassioned memories of why they should just return to when it was “better”.

These days I look on Facebook’s design changes and Privacy woes with the tired eyes of someone who neither cares about the changes nor worries about their privacy – that much.

I agree with Paul Ducklin’s criticism of the post which sparks the latest “privacy scare”, But I also caution him to remember WHY so many distrust Facebook’s care for their privacy.

So while the SMEG’s have been looking for ways to get a store in Zuck’s Online Mall and the Facebooker’s were clamouring to spend their personality like the currency Lowy’s tenants are after, I was locking down my account and moving elsewhere. I had realised that I didn’t want to be a tiny percentage of the overall Facebook product.

Thinking now, I could’ve written this post as a tweet. Oh I did:

But first I have to remind them they can get me somewhere else and there is still an online and real world where we can communicate which doesn’t involve selling yourself to a company like Facebook first.

5 thoughts on “All your Facebook’s belong to us

  1. You’ve described the only reason I probably won’t hurl my Arsebook presence into a skip – keeping in touch with O/S peeps and so forth. There are other ways of keeping in touch, but unfortunately they don’t work as well as the Book of Arse. Having said that I never give them any personal info, never click on their ads and never ‘Like’ anything on external sites, so they’ll get little monetised joy out of me I guess

  2. Too bloody right. Farcebook doesn’t give me quality time with friends and family OS, it never has. In fact the experience is so awful it’s conditioned me into averting it. Practically the only time I log in is when Faecesbook emails me to say someone I know is trying to tell me something (other than buy them crappy “gifts” or invites to some retarded game for time rich morons).

    I’ve killed it before, and was amused that Fuckerberg doesn’t like to tell us how to do it. Thank christ for Google. But friends lured me back “It’s easier to stay in contact!” and yet I hardly contact them that way.

    Facestalk, you’ve overstayed your welcome. You’re like that gossipy school kid that hangs around with but no one likes because you can’t keep a secret.

  3. I loved your article! I barely wrote statuses on facebook, I just “go” there once a month for the same reason you do, I suppose – when a friend insists on sending me a message through facebook, although by now they know I’m not using it more than once a month, as I said.
    And there’s more to it. People write statuses to provoke friends and acquaintances, I mean, this kind of thing ” and now great wine while looking at the Thames – or Seine, or it doesn’t matter what – after a shopping tour through Chanel and Dior shops!” Oh, please, I am glad people have the possibility of acquiring what they want, and they want to share their happiness with friends, but sometimes it is all forged to make the others think “wow, what a super life – and mine so boring”. Everybody has a super life ( who said “every life is a book?”) It just depends on the way we see/perceive things… and not trying to live according to Zuckerberg’s (lack) of principles.
    Mmhh… just my opinion, of course. Don’t get fooled by my blog, please. Writing about what some consider superficial was my way to cope with grieving last year.

    • Denise, blogs aren’t superficial. I do this to please myself, that others like yourself choose to read is very gratifying and I appreciate your commentary. Now my twitter feed – that’s superficial 😉

  4. Oh not that old chestnut “I can interact with my friends in the real world”

    Here’s an idea, I’m in Melbourne, Why don’t I just phone Jim in San Francisco if he’d like to share a pizza with me tonight. it’s a fine and dandy idea until reality hits you with the “Gee whizz, I don’t actually live in a small village with all my friends” thought.

What do you think about what I wrote?

