Flipboard arrives on the iPhone


The iPad only curation tool, Flipboard finally arrives on the iPhone. My initial thoughts are that the usability was confusing and the pre-populated content distracting. Most others didn’t care, it seems their servers went down tonight.

Introducing Flipboard for iPhone: flpbd.it/fgPR
December 7, 2011 12:35:10 AM EST
  1. I use a number of different services on my iPhone to get information and “consume content” (can someone come up with a better term for that?). I anticipated the advent of Flipboard for iPhone for some time, as I had enjoyed using it on occasion on my wife’s iPad.
  2. Flipboard for iPhone. @feedly has competition on my device!
    December 7, 2011 12:30:10 AM EST
  3. I was quickly disappointed, mainly because I’m habitualised to the “normal” behaviour of iPhone Apps, perhaps.
  4. Flipboard for iPhone. Up down swiping is not intuitive. Esp when there is no right-left swiping to speak of and no obvious way to change
    December 7, 2011 2:25:35 AM EST
  5. And while I like being “locked in” to the “closed” iOS, I’m unimpressed by the idea that I can’t change the default flip behaviour
  6. @buckleup @JoshuaWithers why not option to change to iOS left-right natural swipe? Did @Flipboard think they were writing 4 Windows phone?
    December 7, 2011 3:30:47 AM EST
  7. Poynter think Flipboard made the right cal
  8. And while I don’t think there is anything wrong, with them changing the “rules” I needed to make my point:
  9. My comment on Poynters blog re: Flipboard for the iPhone bit.ly/tA98bx
    December 7, 2011 5:20:14 AM EST
  10. Some of my twitter buddies quickly got used to it.
  11. @franksting I’m kinda liking the vertical swipe. #flipboard
    December 7, 2011 6:13:35 AM EST
  12. And hey, I don’t give up on things too easily. Unless the service is pre-populated by content tailored for a completely different continent.
  13. Not convinced by Flipboard. Too much boring US centric content which can’t be removed.
    December 7, 2011 4:07:21 PM EST
  14. I get the US is the biggest market for the app, but I added my Twitter feed and my Google Reader content and STILL the tiles and the cover stories were Baseball and some local news. But I was quickly put right by the team, clearly on the ball with the launch.
  15. @servantofchaos @franksting You can customize your Flipboard to have any content you like from around the world.
    December 7, 2011 4:20:26 PM EST
  16. Unlike their back end which seemed to not have been enabled for the load.
  17. Looks like @flipboard forgot there were 100 million iPhones ready to touch their servers today.
    December 8, 2011 3:16:54 AM EST
  18. Due to high demand, the service is currently down. We are working the issues right now and will update everyone shortly.
    December 8, 2011 1:47:32 AM EST
  19. I’ll try again, once the launch settles down. But for now it’s
  20. Back to @feedly
    December 7, 2011 4:07:35 PM EST
What do you think about what I wrote?

