Apple Software Update Issues


Before I hit the hay (instead of Making Hay) tonight I decided to respond to the Software Update Prompts on a couple of my Mac’s tonight.

I was kind of Surprised to see two versions of the same Safari offered

Two identical Safari Options

So I deselected one and ran the upgrade. It seemed to complete okay and as usual ran another check. At which point I was presented with something odd

itunes producer shows up

I never heard of iTunes Producer before, and judging by the description, it seems like something only content owners get access to, so I was surprised to see it in the standard Lion Software Update

iTunes Producer Description.png

Needless to say I installed it. Which seemed to go well. Upon launch however, I got this:

iTunes Producer Login

What’s iTunes Connect? Off to DuckDuckGo I went

Search itunes Connect

And eventually ended up at the Apple Site for Content Providers

Which (as did any site under apple.com/itunes) kept refreshing and eventually gave me this

Safari Fail

And a lovely crash report from Safari Web Content:

Process:         WebProcess [20467]Path:            /System/Library/StagedFrameworks/Safari/WebKit2.framework/WebProcess.app/Contents/MacOS/WebProcessIdentifier:      com.apple.WebProcessVersion:         7534.54 (7534.54.16)Build Info:      WebKit2-7534054016000000~1Code Type:       X86-64 (Native)Parent Process:  Safari [20044]
Date/Time:       2012-03-21 00:52:25.935 +1100OS Version:      Mac OS X 10.7.3 (11D50b)Report Version:  9
Interval Since Last Report:          1014 secCrashes Since Last Report:           16Per-App Interval Since Last Report:  1033 secPer-App Crashes Since Last Report:   16Anonymous UUID:                      1B08278B-0FAA-4437-8C46-60A82E82BD19
Crashed Thread:  0  Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread
Exception Type:  EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)Exception Codes: KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0x0000000000000008
VM Regions Near 0x8:-->     __TEXT                 0000000109ee4000-0000000109ee5000 [    4K] r-x/rwx SM=COW  /System/Library/StagedFrameworks/Safari/WebKit2.framework/WebProcess.app/Contents/MacOS/WebProcess
Application Specific Information:objc[20467]: garbage collection is OFF
Thread 0 Crashed:: Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

Because this crash also happens when I tried to edit a post here at WordPress.com, I decided to disable all my extensions, which has fixed the problem. Once I identify the culprit, I’ll update this post.

UPDATE: The culprit appears to be the extension Disconnect.

Disconnect Extension

I say appears, because after resetting and turning on all Extensions, all the previously affected sites (Apple.com/itunes, Feedly and the Edit Post page in WordPress.com) worked initially. However after some additional testing, I could consistently get Safari WebContent to crash when Disconnect was turned on and I went to edit a post here.

So the questions are:

Has someone at Apple inadvertently released incorrect builds of Safari to Software Update?

Safari Version 5.1.4

Why did iTunes Producer appear in my Software Update – and is anyone else seeing it?

One thought on “Apple Software Update Issues

  1. At least you got to download it! I am an app developer, with an iTunes Connect account, and went through the whole process leading up to downloading Producer, but cannot find it anywhere, and Apple does not respond to questions regarding this.

What do you think about what I wrote?

